Thursday, July 24, 2014

http://www.playbuzz.com/gregs/can-we-guess-who-you-are-in-only-20-questions

Holy shit.
Although I don't own a pet. (seriously though I want an iguana)
And I don't date a lot.
Still. Very close.


Tuesday, May 20, 2014

This is how best friends react to defend there own. Best scene ever.

Sunday, May 11, 2014

THE 100 PHOTO RECAPS

LEXI
You have to look at these, they're hilarious.
They do snarky photo recaps of the episodes.

http://www.tv.com/shows/the-100/community/

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

If you need a good cry

Watch these.
Watch them, damn you!
Gah I must be particularly emotional today because I'm literally just sitting here watching these and crying like a bitch.

http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

David's in the news!

Humble Fire!!!!!
Aw so proud of my brother. :-)
Look at these guys - all humble and fiery.

http://dcmusicdownload.com/2014/05/06/rising-artists-humble-fire/

Saturday, May 3, 2014

okay so i'm looking through all the documents i have that are telling me what to do and have for registration and how to handle myself when i get to france and WHAT WAS I THINKING registering for a french university? Everything's written in french. That shouldn't be surprising but for one reason or another it was a bit of a jolt to my system. I was ever so slowly translating the pdf and realized "holy shit this is my life now."

holy crap, i'm freaking out just a tiny bit. tiny bit. super nervous. 
what if i get there and don't know where my first class is so i get lost on campus and am late to my first day of class, then can't ask anyone where to go because i don't speak french yet?
i know that is unlikely to happen. 
just voicing my worries.
i have a lot of worries.

what if everyone there is mean and then i can't leave for eight months?
what if i never learn french and come back and everyone's disappointed?
what if i fail out of my french classes because i'm too stupid to learn another language?
WHAT IF I'VE MADE A TERRIBLE MISTAKE?


Wednesday, April 30, 2014

musing: why i love comics

Found this today.
Pepper and Steve are art buddies, Steve illustrates dinner table arguments and visiting scientific conferences with Thor (so he has a buddy) and Jane (for moral support).
etcetera goodness.
http://americancaptaincomic.tumblr.com/

I think one of the reasons my favorite avenger is Captain America is because he reminds me of my dad. They're both men who don't really understand their respective worlds but they stick to a certain code, a certain set of rules because some days it's the only thing they know how to do.
They take the same comfort in meticulous familiarity.
I think my dad would have done extremely well in the military.

Being able to relate to the marvel universe is something I never realized I did so heavily, but it's taken the place of dance and my intense reading habits as something I can equate to my own life.

I think that is one of the main reasons people love comics. those alternate worlds. People, if you'll allow me to speak for humanity, relate themselves and their lives to the stories they read. It's a natural reaction and a good one. Seems to help ground their uncertainties.
People relate in that way to superheroes. I know I do. Knowing their imperfections makes me love them more and makes me feel less terrible about my own faults.

I love Pepper's endless quest to fill the apartment with good art despite Tony's ambivalence.
I love the fact that Natasha Romanov was a legitimately bad person who swallowed the pill and accepted what she's done, and she relentlessly tries to make herself better.
I love that Bruce Banner takes solace in science even after it so thoroughly betrayed him.

The people of this universe are relatable and impossible in the best ways because they give you a morality to strive for but they don't fault you for taking a while to get there.
I mean for heaven's sake marvel comics have been running since the 30's and there's still trouble popping up around every corner.

Most of all I love that that universe helps me understand that just because there are no aliens in our world doesn't mean we don't have heroes.
And it doesn't mean that you shouldn't try to be one even if you have faults.
Like my dad and the quiet suffering he goes through every day while sticking resolutely, bravely, to the things he knows and the things he's good at doing. It makes him brave in a way I don't think even he understands.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Ellen has a tumblr?

Seeing as this is officially mine and lexi's blog now (lazy butts) I will just put stuff I think is interesting.
Found out today that Ellen has a tumblr and has been blogging her experiences since she left Brooklyn.

http://ellenepley.tumblr.com/

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Friday, March 28, 2014

Me in fifteen years? If the anthropology thing doesn't pan out.
Start at 0:30.


Monday, March 24, 2014

Annie this is for you. 

Also most addictive game ever. Sonia how could you do this to me!? I'm addicted.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Something tells me you all (Lexi in particular) will love this one.

Canada - U.S. Border - Education for the Day!

If you learn nothing else, at least you'll know about one of our borders.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Girls


Not sure why but i find this declaration unbelievable sweet, particularly 0:14 

makes me smile and then...

laughed so hard that people stared at me
also i'm pretty certain i'm counter-dependent.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Counterdependency
found this through a reddit link and it kind of 100% describes my feelings when i get scared or panicky.

Best movies

Reddit Thread
Look! It's number one! (at this point, at least)
Like I said, seriously go watch Intouchables when you're having a bad day.
It's a good good movie.

Oh and why on earth is everyone turning down the lego movie????
It looks incredibly good.

Monday, March 3, 2014

this is the most important thing you will see all week

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Five doctors


Deep thoughts

If I were a man, I'd hope I could grow a really great beard.
Not one of those patchy ones. Like, a seriously cool manly man beard. 
This is a blog. So yes, emma, I can write my odd things here.
god i'm such a sap. i just cried watching this. maybe its hormones? its so cute! gah.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1746892989/twinsters-part-2-post-production?ref=search

What kind of dog are you?


I took it twice - Corgi then Pit Bull.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/chelseamarshall/what-kind-of-dog-are-you

Thursday, January 23, 2014

There are ups and downs to being a risk-taker. 
Saying "what the hell" let's do this.
Sometimes it pays off. Sometimes you miss the mark.
How I feel MOST of the time.


Seriously though... this freaking tiny baby adorable squirrel. Jesus H Christ its adorable.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

For all those shy people and me.

Annie this is for you.

Monday, January 13, 2014

Where do our t-shirts come from?

EVERYWHERE!
NPR's Planet Money traveled around after a t-shirt to find out where it went. Its a pretty cool watch.
The people chapter/video got some feels man.

Sunday, January 5, 2014